Intro. 1447

Support Intro. 1447!

An epidemic of construction deaths is plaguing New York City. Workers are being exploited and corners are being cut. This is not what New York City is about. The people who build our iconic skyline are being treated as expendable commodities and their deaths are increasingly being regarded as ‘the cost of doing business’. The time is NOW to reverse this trend and foster safe working environments. 

New York City’s elected officials have a responsibility to protect and value the lives of workers that build our city.  Since January 2015, 30 construction workers have died on construction sites across the five boroughs. 90% of those fatalities occurred on non-union sites. Latino and Immigrant workers are disproportionately affected by these unsafe work conditions. According to 2015 OSHA statistics, 57% of fatalities from falls are Latino workers, while Latinos make up only 30% of the construction workforce.

Join the New York City District Council of Carpenters in urging the City Council to support Intro. 1447.  Call your City Council Member and tell them how important safety training is. To find your district and the contact information for your City Council Member, visit www.council.nyc.gov/districts.

 

Summary of the Bill

  • The objective in Councilmember Williams’ legislation is to achieve safe construction sites by requiring all workers to be well trained, whether union or non-union.
  • The Council Member Williams proposed safety legislation requires trainings on all NYC construction on buildings governed by the Building Code as follows:
    1. Major buildings (10 stories and above) and demolition in buildings 4 stories and above workers are required to be trained and must be in one of the following categories:
      1. apprentices in registered apprentice programs; or
      2. graduates of such programs;
      3. or a worker that is experienced, trained and skilled that has received training commensurate with that required of apprentices in related instruction and on the job training in accordance with standards set forth in the New York State labor law and DOL regulations. (Legal cite in the document; i.e. at least 144 hours per year and at least 4000 hours (over any period) of “reasonably continuous employment”).
    2. All other buildings require training as follows:
      1. apprentices in registered apprentice programs; or
      2. graduates of such programs; or
      3. a worker that is experienced, trained and skilled that has received training commensurate with that required of apprentices in related instruction and on the job training in accordance with New York State standards established by law and regulation; or
      4. A worker that has successfully completed a bona fide construction site safety training program
  • “Bona fide construction site safety training program” means that the Commissioner of Buildings can approve a training program that is commensurate with at least one year of apprentice training in accordance standards set forth in the NYS labor law and DOL regulations as cited above. This is only applicable to buildings under 10 stories or under 4 in demolition.

Contact NYC Council

Help do your part by reaching out to your City Council Member, and urge them to vote YES on Intro. 1447 (*please be sure you are a NYC resident before filling out the form, and that your City Council Member has not already voted YES*).  Click the link below to send them a letter urging passage of this legislation (*only NY residents should send letters, all other members can call or contact Council Members via email).

Vote YES on Intro. 1447

 

Or, if you prefer you can call them. Please be sure to contact the Council Member for your District. To find out who your Council Member is visit council.nyc.gov/districts/.  Here is a sample script to use for your call.

Council Members who have yet to sign on to the legislation:

Council Member Steve Matteo
Staten Island
smatteo@council.nyc.gov
718-588-7500
Arrochar, Bloomfield, Bulls Head, Chelsea, Concord, Dongan Hills, Egbertville, Emerson Hill, Grant City, Grasmere, Lighthouse Hill, Manor Heights, Midland Beach, New Dorp, New Dorp Beach, New Springville, Oakwood, Old Town, Richmond Town, South Beach, Todt Hill, Travis, Westerleigh.

Council Member Ruben Wills
Queens
rwills@council.nyc.gov
718-980-1017
Rochdale, South Ozone Park

Council Member Rosie Mendez
Manhattan
rmendez@council.nyc.gov
718-206-2068
East Village, Gramercy Park, Kips Bay, Lower East Side, Murray Hill, Rose Hill

Council Member Peter Koo
Queens
pkoo@council.nyc.gov
718-919-0740
Downtown Flushing, Murray Hill, Queensboro Hill

Council Member David Greenfield
Brooklyn
dgreenfield@council.nyc.gov
718-853-2704
Borough Park, Midwood, Ocean Parkway

Council Member Darlene Mealy
Brooklyn
dmealy@council.nyc.gov
718-953-3097
Bedford-Stuyvesant, Ocean Hill-Brownsville, East Flatbush, Crown Heights

Council Member Chaim Deutsch
Brooklyn
cdeutsch@council.nyc.gov
718-368-9176
Brighton Beach, Homecrest, Madison, Manhattan Beach, Manhattan Terrace, Sheepshead Bay

Council Member Melissa Mark Viverito
Bronx
212-828-9800
El Barrio/East Harlem, Mott Haven, Highbridge, Concourse, Longwood, Port Morris

 

Say Thank You To Those Sponsoring the Bill

Some City Council members already support the legislation, please click the link to thank those members who have already sponsored Intro. 1447.  You can message them by using the link below or call them by looking up your city council member by District Office.

 

Thank you for supporting Intro. 1447

 

Please be sure to contact the Council Member for your District. To find out who your Council Member is visit council.nyc.gov/districts/.

Council Members who have sponsored Intro. 1447:

Council Member Paul Vallone
Queens
pvallone@council.nyc.gov
718-619-8611
Auburndale, Bay Terrace, Bayside, Beechhurst, College Point, Douglaston, Flushing, Little Neck, Malba, Whitestone

Council Member Laurie Cumbo
Brooklyn
lcumbo@council.nyc.gov
718-260-9191
Fort Greene, Clinton Hill, Crown Heights, Prospect Heights, Bedford Stuyvesant

Council Member Brad Lander
Brooklyn
blander@council.nyc.gov
718-499-1090
Cobble Hill, Carroll Gardens, Columbia Waterfront, Gowanus, Park Slope, Windsor Terrace, Borough Park, Kensington

Council Member Margaret Chin
Manhattan
mchin@council.nyc.gov
212-587-3159
Battery Park City, Civic Center, Chinatown, Financial District, Little Italy, the Lower East Side, NoHo, SoHo, South Street Seaport, South Village, TriBeCa & Washington Square

Council Member Robert Cornegy Jr.
Brooklyn
rcornegy@council.nyc.gov
212-677-1077
Bedford Stuyvesant, Crown Heights, Weeksville

Council Member Eric Ulrich
Queens
eulrich@council.nyc.gov
718-738-1083
Belle Harbor, Breezy Point, Broad Channel, Howard Beach, Lindenwood, Neponsit, Ozone Park, Rockaway Park, Roxbury, Seaside, Woodhaven

Council Member Andrew Cohen
Bronx
acohen@council.nyc.gov
718-549-7300
Bedford Park, Kingsbridge, Riverdale, Norwood, Van Cortlandt Village, Wakefield, Woodlawn

Council Member Vanessa Gibson
Bronx
vgibson@council.nyc.gov
718-748-5200
Claremont, Concourse, Concourse Village, Highbridge, Morris Heights, Mount Eden, Morrisania

Council Member Helen Rosenthal
Manhattan
hrosenthal@council.nyc.gov
212-873-0282
Central Park, Lincoln Square, Upper West Side, Clinton

Council Member Donovan Richards
Queens
drichards@council.nyc.gov
718-471-7014
Arverne, Brookville, Edgemere, Far Rockaway, Laurelton, Rosedale, Springfield Gardens

Council Member Dan Garodnick
Manhattan
dgarodnick@council.nyc.gov
212-818-0580
Upper East Side, Carnegie Hill, Yorkville, Central Park South, Midtown East, Times Square, Koreatown, Peter Cooper Village and Stuyvesant Town, Waterside Plaza, Tudor City, Turtle Bay, Murray Hill, Sutton Place

Council Member Mark Levine
Manhattan
mlevine@council.nyc.gov
212-928-6814
Manhattan Valley, Manhattanville, Morningside Heights, Hamilton Heights

Council Member James Van Bramer
Queens
jvanbramer@council.nyc.gov
718-383-9566
Sunnyside, Woodside, Long Island City, Astoria, Dutch Kills

Council Member Julissa Ferreras Copeland
Queens
jferreras@council.nyc.gov
718-651-1917
East Elmhurst, Elmhurst, Jackson Heights, and Corona in Queens, including Flushing Meadows Corona Park, Lefrak City and LaGuardia Airport

Council Member Andy King
Bronx
aking@council.nyc.gov
718-684-5509
Wakefield, Olinville, Edenwald, Eastchester, Williamsbridge, Baychester, Co-op City

Council Member Annabel Palma
Bronx
apalma@council.nyc.gov
718-792-1140
Soundview, Castle Hill, Parkchester, Clason Point, Harding Park

Council Member Joe Borelli
Staten Island
jborelli@council.nyc.gov
718-984-5151
Annadale, Arden Heights, Bay Terrace, Charleston, Eltingville, Great Kills, Greenridge, Heartland Village, Huguenot, New Springville, Pleasant Plains, Prince’s Bay, Richmond Valley, Rossville, Tottenville, Woodrow

Council Member Mark Treyger
Brooklyn
mtreyger@council.nyc.gov
718-373-9673
Bensonhurst, Coney Island, Gravesend, Sea Gate

Council Member Fernando Cabrera
Bronx
fcabrera@council.nyc.gov
347-590-2874
Morris Heights, University Heights, Fordham, Kingsbridge

Council Member Vincent Gentile
Brooklyn
vgentile@council.nyc.gov
718-748-5200
Bay Ridge, Dyker Heights, Fort Hamilton

Council Member James Vacca
Bronx
jvacca@council.nyc.gov
718-931-1721
Allerton, City Island, Country Club, Edgewater Park, Ferry Point, Locust Point, Morris Park, Pelham Bay, Pelham Gardens, Pelham Parkway, Schuylerville, Silver Beach, Spencer Estates, Throggs Neck, Van Nest, Waterbury LaSalle, Westchester Square, Zerega

Council Member Jumaane Williams
Brooklyn
jwilliams@council.nyc.gov
718-629-2900
Flatbush, East Flatbush, Flatlands, Midwood, Canarsie

Council Member Carlos Menchaca
Brooklyn
cmenchaca@council.nyc.gov
718-439-9012
Red Hook, Sunset Park, Windsor Terrace.

Council Member Ben Kallos
Manhattan
bkallos@council.nyc.gov
212-860-1950
Upper East Side’s Yorkville, Lenox Hill, Carnegie Hill, Roosevelt Island, Midtown East, Sutton Place, El Barrio in East Harlem

Council Member Elizabeth Crowley
Queens
ecrowley@council.nyc.gov
718-366-3900
Glendale, Maspeth, Middle Village, Ridgewood, Woodhaven, Woodside

Council Member Rory Lancman
Queens
rlancman@council.nyc.gov
718-217-4969
Kew Gardens Hills, Pomonok, Electchester, Fresh Meadows, Hillcrest, Jamaica Estates, Briarwood, Parkway Village, Jamaica Hills, Jamaica

Council Member Daneek Miller
Queens
dmiller@council.nyc.gov
718-776-3700
Cambria Heights, Hollis, Jamaica, St. Albans, Queens Village, and Springfield Gardens

Council Member Daniel Dromm
Queens
ddromm@council.nyc.gov
718-803-6373
Elmhurst, Jackson Heights

Council Member Rafael Salamanca
Bronx
rsalamanca@council.nyc.gov
718-402-6130
Concourse Village, Crotona Park East, East Tremont, Hunts Point, Longwood, Melrose, Morrisania, Port Morris, West Farms, North Brother Island, South Brother Island

Council Member Ritchie Torres
Bronx
rtorres@council.nyc.gov
718-842-8100
Bedford Park, Fordham, Mount Hope, Bathgate, Belmont, East Tremont, West Farms, Van Nest, Allerton, Olinville

Council Member Costa Constantinides
Queens
cconstantinides@council.nyc.gov
718-274-4500
Astoria, East Elmhurst, Jackson Heights, Woodside

Council Member Corey Johnson
Manhattan
cjohnson@council.nyc.gov
212-564-7757
Chelsea, Hell’s Kitchen, Greenwich Village, West SoHo, Hudson Square, Times Square, Garment District, Flatiron, Upper West Side

Council Member Deborah Rose
Staten Island
drose@council.nyc.gov
718-556-7370
Arlington, Clifton, Clove Lakes, Concord, Elm Park, Graniteville, Livingston, Mariners Harbor, New Brighton, Port Richmond, Randall Manor, Rosebank, St. George, Snug Harbor, Silver Lake, Stapleton, Sunnyside, West Brighton and Tompkinsville

Council Member Antonio Reynoso
Brooklyn, Queens
areynoso@council.nyc.gov
718-963-3141
Williamsburg, Bushwick, Ridgewood

Council Member Stephen Levin
Brooklyn
slevin@council.nyc.gov
718-875-5200
Boerum Hill, Brooklyn Heights, Brooklyn Navy Yard, Downtown Brooklyn, Dumbo, Fulton Ferry, Greenpoint, Vinegar Hill, Williamsburg.

Council Member Rafael Espinal
Brooklyn
respinal@council.nyc.gov
718-642-8664
Cypress Hills, Bushwick, City Line, Ocean Hill, Brownsville, East New York

Council Member Barry Grodenchik
Queens
bgrodenchik@council.nyc.gov
718-468-0137
Bayside, Bellerose, Douglaston, Floral Park, Fresh Meadows, Glen Oaks, Hollis, Hollis Hills, Holliswood, Jamaica Estates, Little Neck, Queens Village

Council Member Karen Koslowitz
Queens
kkoslowitz@council.nyc.gov
718-544-8800
Rego Park, Forest Hills, Kew Gardens, Richmond Hill

Council Member Ydanis Rodriguez
Manhattan
yrodriguez@council.nyc.gov
917-521-2616
Inwood, Marble Hill, Washington Heights

Council Member Mathieu Eugene
Brooklyn
meugene@council.nyc.gov
718-287-8762
Ditmas Park, Prospect Lefferts Gardens, Prospect Park South

Council Member Alan Maisel
Brooklyn
amaisel@council.nyc.gov
718-241-9330
Bergen Beach, Canarsie, Flatlands, Georgetown, Gerritsen Beach, Marine Park, Mill Basin, Mill Island, Sheepshead Bay

 

The Legislative Process for Intro. 1447

The Process of a Bill becoming Law in New York City and the Current Status of Intro. 1447

Intro. 1447, legislation mandating safety training, was introduced at the NYC Council Stated Meeting on January, 18, 2017. Currently, the bill is in the Housing & Buildings Committee. A bill can spend months in committee while amendments are made and stakeholders advocate for its passage or defeat. The District Council is actively working toward the passage of Intro. 1447. To participate in this effort, please contact the District Council Political Action Department at politcalaction@nycdistrictcouncil.org. You may be asked to attend a rally, attend a meeting with your local Councilmember at their district office or participate in another form of meaningful action.  Now is the time to demand action from our elected officials.

Step 1: Introduction of Legislation

Councilmembers draft bills with assistance from the City Council Legislative Division. Bills are then introduced at a meeting of the full City Council (City Council Stated meeting). From there, bills are assigned to the appropriate committee.

Step 2: Public Hearing

Committees hold public hearings on bills to gather feedback from the public and other stakeholders. The public has the opportunity to voice opposition or support for the proposed legislation. Bills may be amended as a result of this feedback. Intro. 1447 was assigned to the Housing and Buildings Committee and a public hearing was held on Tuesday, January 31st. A vote on the bill has not yet taken place.

Step 3: Voting

The Committee votes on the bill. If the bill passes by a simple majority, the bill is then moves on to the full City Council for a vote. The full Council will vote on the bill at their Stated Meeting. A majority of Councilmembers must vote in the affirmative for the bill to pass.

Step 4: Mayoral Consideration

The Mayor has the power to sign the bill into to law, veto the bill or take no action. If the Mayor vetoes the legislation, it is sent back to the City Council. The Council must then pass the bill with a 2/3 majority to override the Mayoral veto. If the Mayor takes no action within 30 days, the bill becomes law.

Step 5: Bill Becomes Law

Following passage, the bill becomes part of the City Charter or City Administrative Code.

 Call and urge your Council Member to sign on to Intro. 1447

  http://council.nyc.gov/legislation/

Worker’s Safety Rally 1/31/17

Building Trades Rally January 2017